Apple has launched a new privacy push that will mean the company notifying users when they send any personal data to the tech company, an apparent attempt to draw a line between the iPhone maker and companies such as Google and Facebook.

A software update released on Thursday will mean users are shown extra information about how personal information is shared with Apple, such as the App Store and iTunes.

The company will also let users delete their accounts entirely, or “deactivate” them so that no personal data is processed by Apple. A new section of Apple’s website in May will let users download all the data held by the company, such as photos and contacts.